Trust your Instincts: When to change a professional service

It’s often said “we only know what we know.” A military commander cannot make a sound and timely decision on a battle plan if the reconnaissance element doesn’t get the necessary information to the commander. The same for the business/corporate field. Bottom line, we put trust in the professionals that do the job or provide a service.

We all know or have known a local automotive mechanic that we could take our vehicle to for service. It would be fixed in a timely manner, and we would not be sticker shocked on the bill. I’m not a mechanic (though I did rebuild a motor in a ’73 Ford Truck from a Chilton’s manual!), so when I take our vehicles in for service we “trust” the professionals providing the service will do a sound and timely job and they will do so with a professional “responsibility” as if they are working on their own car. Much like the commander expecting the Recon Sergeant to provide him or her with an accurate assessment on the enemy situation.

Now we all know that quality service only goes as far as the level of quality we expect, the trust we have, what we are willing to pay or how far to we want to be ripped off. We’ve all had bad service at restaurants, barbers, retail stores, etc… We have to gauge the price versus the service or what we want to deal with.

When we are hired for leadership training, team building or character development, our goal is to provide a “First Class” service and also give the client “bang for their buck.” That’s our motivation, our foundation, our ethics. If we cannot do something or if there is something that is better suited for another company, we are upfront and honest with our clients. We would rather provide the best service to a few, then a sub-standard effort to many.

This motto is unfortunately not the standard across the professional community. With the economy the way it is, businesses want to take on as much as they can, and if they limp to the finish line with a sub-standard performance, their satisfied because they were paid.

This is much more than a lesson in ethics, it’s about doing the right thing by each client regardless of the circumstance if you accept a job. For us it doesn’t matter if you are a professional sports team, major soft drink or pharmaceutical company, or the family owned pool company with six employees. You will receive 110% effort each and every day.

Now this blog isn’t about pumping up Elite Leadership Training, rather this blog is about when is it time to change professional services?

Some say to give a professional service one chance, if you’re not satisfied, move on. But what about the instances where you receive great service initially, and the service over time worsens?

I get my hair cut a lot, probably three times a month (old Army Ranger habit, high & tight every 7 days!), so if I receive a bad haircut the first time I change Barbers, but I also know I’ll have a chance of a better haircut in 10 days!!!

But let’s talk about key professional services like a doctor or lawyer, positions that require both stellar education & ethics. I’m an educated man but I’m neither a doctor or lawyer. My days of being a Ranger EMT & Army Sergeant Major did not prepare me for either position. So if a doctor or attorney tells me something, I take it as fact. They went to medical school or law school; this is their profession.

Granted the Internet has helped in finding out pieces of information, but much of the Internet is not fact. You have to decide when the information you’ve received is “what you want to hear” and the professionals no longer have your best interests in hand. Easier said then done in many instances.

Everyone has attributes they do well and don’t do well; if you do everything well your lying or your ego makes you a narcissist. I’m a terrific motivator who leads with passion & wears his heart on his sleeve. I’m also a very trusting person and I take people a their face value. Do what you say your going to do and be upfront and honest. That’s what I expect and how I live my life; unfortunately that’s not a standard 100% across the board.

My answer for when is it time to change professional services is simply “trust your instincts” and “don’t ignore those instincts.” My “instincts” told me years ago to make a change in a professional service (as well as my wife’s instincts); but when aggravated I would be told what I wanted to hear from that service, receive the necessary reassurances, and oh by the way there is new bill in the mail!

I’m an overly trusting person (my attribute that needs work) because it’s what I give so what I expect. I ignored my instincts, the advice from my wife, and I’ve overpaid for a service that lacked the quality and professionalism necessary to complete the mission. Shame on me, but I’ve learned and moving forward! Hooah!

Here’s the standard, do what you say your going to do and if you can’t, or you are not qualified, or it’s too hard, or you just don’t want to do it, then tell me from the start. We have lost this sense of professionalism somewhere.

The foundation of trust in a professional service has to be the keystone in being a Warrior, Winner, Leader & Survivor.

Trust your instincts! HOOAH!

JB SPISSO
Performance Coach & Lead Consultant
Elite Leadership Training LLC

http://www.eliteleadershiptraining.com

Twitter: Leadership_Trng

*This is NOT an attack on Doctors or Lawyers; my family has four medical professionals in it & I have several great people of character that are attorneys. This point can be made about a home builder, electrician, driver or anyone offering professional services. The point being made is understood that doctors & lawyers are some of the upper echelon of educated professionals.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

